Translation Memories are handy tools that make your translation process faster & with more efficiency. For each organization, there is at least one Translation Memory that learns from all projects created, edited and closed.

Tip!

A standard default Translation Memory is assigned to all your projects.
You are able to switch Translation Memories only when you create more than one TM.
 
If you use only one Translation Memory in your organization,
this one is automatically assigned to every project you create and it won’t be possible to select another one.

Choosing Default Translation Memory 

You can choose your default Translation Memory easily. Remember that each organization can have only one default Translation Memory and that this one is automatically assigned to all newly created Projects. 

  1. Access Organization Settings by selecting the Settings tab in the Navigation Bar
  2. Select Translation Memories section in the side bar on the left 
  3. Choose the Translation Memory you wish to assign the Default status to and click the Manage button. 
  4. Tick the Default Translation Memory checkbox
  5. Click the Save changes button. 
  6. Your Default Translation Memory has been selected.

How to Assign a Translation Memory to a Project?

You can assign specific Translation Memories to your Projects. This way you can make sure that your Translation Memories are learning from relevant Projects and displaying their Suggestions in the very best context. 

To assign a Translation Memory to a specific Project, please follow the steps below: 

  1. Access the Project Dashboard
  2. Select the Project Preferences tab and then Translation Tools in the submenu
  3. Select a Translation Memory from the drop down menu. The drop down menu will provide you with a list of Translation Memories within your organization. 
  4. Changes are automatically saved.

Tip!

For quick access to your Translation Memory settings,
click the Manage Translation Memory link.
It will forward you directly to the Translation Memory settings.

Translation Memory Suggestions in the Editor

You can find the Suggestions provided by the selected Translation Memory in the Side Panel of your Editor. You can select or deselect this option in the following way: 

  1. Access the Project Dashboard
  2. Select the Project Preferences tab and then Translation Tools in the submenu
  3. Tick the checkbox for Show Translation Memory suggestions
  4. Translation Memory Suggestions will now be displayed in the Side Panel of the Editor
  5. Changes are automatically saved.
Did this answer your question?